BSM Buyers Guide






Roof Hugger


Follow Us
Join Us on Facebook Join us on Twitter




Excellence Awards Presented to Top IFMA Members

Print Article Contributed by BSM Staff

HOUSTON -- IFMA named the winners of its 2018 Awards of Excellence at the World Workplace Conference and Expo in Charlotte, NC last week. The annual awards honor the stand-out achievements of IFMA members, chapters, councils and communities.

“Behind each of these awards is the hard work and dedication of FM professionals to achieve results and contribute to something larger then themselves,” said Graham Tier, CFM, FMP, MRICS, chair of IFMA’s global board of directors. “Everything that IFMA accomplishes as a global leader in FM is directly attributable to the effort of our members. We recognize these efforts with awards to demonstrate our appreciation as a community. The Awards of Excellence are our chance to step back and recognize how far we’ve come as an association and an industry, and to thank those colleagues who have set the pace.”

Winners were recognized in 16 categories, with judging panels comprised of industry experts scoring nominees individually across a variety of category-specific criteria.

The 2018 IFMA Awards of Excellence recipients are:

  • Distinguished Author Award: Web-based/Social Media: Jenny Yeung, CFM, CEnv., MRICS, MSOE, Hong Kong Chapter of IFMA;
  • Distinguished Author Award: Article, Peter Kimmel, IFMA Fellow;
  • Distinguished Author Award: Book, Rex Miller for “The Healthy Workplace Nudge;”
  • Chapter Award of Excellence in Web Communications, San Diego Chapter of IFMA;
  • Chapter Award of Excellence in Government Affairs, Denver Chapter of IFMA;
  • Chapter Award of Excellence in Professional Development, Denver Chapter of IFMA;
  • Emerging Professional Award, Derek Bacigal, FMP, SFP, CHFE, CDOE, CCE, CPO, CQM, U.S. Department of the Army, Hale Koa Hotel;
  • Distinguished Educator Award, Dr. Joseph H.K. Lai, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University;
  • Associate Member of the Year, Judith Sayler, CPSM, LEED AP, Gordon Prill Inc.;
  • Distinguished Member Award, Wayne Whitzell, LEED AP, BEP, GBO, DFS Green;
  • Sheila Sheridan Award for Sustainable Facility Operations and Management, YMUS Cypress Facility Team;
  • FM Innovation Award, Project Sagamore EMD Serono;
  • Student Chapter of the Year Award, Greater Phoenix Student Chapter of IFMA;
  • Community of the Year Award, Workplace Evolutionaries (WE);
  • Small Chapter of the Year Award, Sacramento Valley Chapter of IFMA;
  • Large Chapter of the Year Award, Boston Chapter of IFMA.

In addition to the Awards of Excellence, IFMA Foundation Chair Nancy Sanquist, IFMA Fellow, presented Foundation Trustees Awards to Phyllis Meng, CFM, SFP, IFMA Fellow; John Carey (Houston Chapter of IFMA); and the San Fernando Valley, Orange County and New York City Chapters of IFMA.

For more, go to www.ifma.org.